2012 News
Home Committee Rules Team Leagues
Admin Contact

2012 Season

Finals Day: Saturday 8th September

The finals of the Colchester and District Friendly League Tournaments took place on Saturday 8th September. In this Olympic year, it seemed only right that the standard should be high and, right from the start, this proved to be the case. In the Men's Singles, Chris Burridge of Spring Lane had to fight hard to take the first set on a tie-break over last year's runner-up, Dan Harty of Dedham. He completed the match 7-6 6-1 to regain the title he last held in 2010. Two young ladies contested the Ladies' Singles event. Fourteen-year-old Shauna Kelly, of Spring Lane, won a close first set 7-5. Her 19-year-old opponent, Felicity Wilbraham of Dedham, then fought back to take the next two sets 6-4 6-1 to win the title for the first time.

The Mixed Doubles was another 3-setter, with Gerry Borley and Louise Thomas-Unger of Little Clacton finally overcoming last year's champions, Chris Burridge and Fiona Wray of Spring Lane, 3-6 6-1 6-3. It was business as usual for Melanie Woods and Noriko Kelly of Spring Lane in the Ladies' Doubles, as they won for the fourth consecutive time. Their opponents, Fiona Wray and Anita Filer of Spring Lane, fought hard in the first set but the champions went on to win 7-5 6-0. In another 3-setter, Dan Harty and Neil Weston of Dedham took the first set in the Men's Doubles 6-3 before last year's winners Chris Burridge and Andy Hodgson came back to take the second 6-4. The final set was won 7-5 by a delighted Harty and Weston to take the title for the first time.

The Veteran Ladies' Doubles was contested by Linda Taylor and Sue Wargent of West Mersea and Fiona Wray & Sherry Hodgson of Spring Lane. The West Mersea pair won 6-3 6-2 to regain the title they last won in 2010. In the Veteran Men's Doubles, last year's winners Andy Hodgson and Chris Burridge (Spring Lane) took the first set 6-4 from Gerry Borley and John Russell (Little Clacton). However, in yet another 3-setter, the Little Clacton pair came back to win 4-6 6-3 6-4. The final contest — the Veteran Mixed Doubles — was played as a round robin, with the pairings of Gerry Borley and Linda Taylor, Chris Burridge and Fiona Wray, and Andy and Sherry Hodgson playing one set each. However with the light fading, they could not be separated and the match was declared a draw.

John Sambrook, Chairman, who presented the trophies, thanked everyone who had helped out — particularly Tournament Organiser Gerry Owens and those who acted as umpires. He then presented the team shields to Little Clacton who had won the Ladies' Division and the Mixed Division. The Men's Divison was won by Maldon for the second year running.

Mens singles finalists
Dan Harty (Dedham) and
Chris Burridge (Spring Lane) (winner)

Ladies singles finalists
Felicity Wilbraham (Dedham) (winner)
Shauna Kelly (Spring Lane)

Mens doubles finalists
Chris Burridge & Andy Hodgson (Spring Lane);
Neil Weston & Dan Harty (Dedham) (winners)

Ladies doubles finalists
Fiona Wray & Anita Filer (Spring Lane);
Noriko Kelly & Melanie Woods (Spring Lane) (winners)

Mixed doubles finalists
Chris Burridge & Fiona Wray (Spring Lane);
Louise Thomas-Unger & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) (winners)

[Sorry, no photo]  
Veteran mens doubles finalists
Chris Burridge & Andy Hodgson (Spring Lane);
Gerry Borley & John Russell (Little Clacton) (winners)

Veteran ladies doubles finalists
Fiona Wray & Sherry Hodgson (Spring Lane);
Sue Wargent & Linda Taylor (West Mersea) (winners)

[Sorry, no photo]  
Veteran mixed doubles finalists
Contenders for the Don Rampling Cup
Chris Burridge & Fiona Wray (Spring Lane);
Andy Hodson & Sherry Hodgson (Spring Lane)
Linda Taylor (West Mersea) & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) (all winners!)


12th April
The AGM was held on Wednesday 12th April 2012. The following clubs have affiliated to the Friendly League for the 2012 season and have entered the following teams:

Colchester LTC:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mixed Team
Dedham:  For individual tournaments only
Frinton:  Mens Team (3-pair), Mixed Team
Little Clacton:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair), Mixed
Maldon:  Mens Team (2-pair)
Phoenix:  Mens Team (2-pair)
West Mersea:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (3-pair), Mixed Team
Wivenhoe  Mens Team (2-pair)

News from previous years


Web-site designed and maintained by Christine Clark