2003 News
Home Committee Rules Team Leagues

News from 2003

The Friendly League finals held on 6 September produced a new Mens Singles champion when Gerry Borley of Little Clacton, last year's runner-up, beat Sam Ersapah of Stanway 6-2 6-2.

Gerry was less successful in the Mens Doubles when he and his partner Martin Picker took on David Ford and Colin Young of Cosmopolitan. Winners last year, the Little Clacton pair won the first set 6-4 only for the home team to draw level by taking the second set by the same score. The Cosmopolitan pair went on to take the third set 6-1 and to win the title.

In the Veteran Mens Doubles last year's outcome was reversed when Bob Salmon and Andrew Simpson of Stanway overcame Gerry Borley and Roger Payne in a very close match, 7-5 7-5.

Congratulations to Shirley Haxell and Helen Warburton of Ardleigh who retained their Ladies Doubles title, easily overcoming Kathy Salmon and Linda Parkins of Stanway 6-1 6-0. Also retaining their title were Bob and Kathy Salmon who beat David and Lesley Ford 6-2 6-1 in the Veteran Mixed Doubles.

Kathy Salmon and Linda Parkins had more luck in the Veteran Ladies Doubles when they overcame last year's winners Ann Dunnell and Maureen Root of Phoenix. They took the first set easily and, although their opponents forced a tie-break, the Stanway pair held on to win 6-1 7-6.

The Mixed Doubles final was an all-Ardleigh contest with Helen Warbarton and Rob Hazelton finally overcoming Shirley Haxell and Malcolm Barclay 6-3 7-6.

Chairman John Sambrook presented trophies to Cosmo who had won the Mens League, to Phoenix who had won the Ladies League and to Little Clacton who had won the Mixed League. He thanked Cosmo for the use of their courts. Particular thanks were expressed to Christine Clark, David Jones, Gerry Owens, John Sambrook and Graham Wood who had acted as umpires.

The full results can also be found on the Individual Tournaments page. Here are some photographs taken on the day by John Sambrook.

Mens doubles winners
David Ford and Colin Young (Cosmopolitan)

Mixed doubles finalists
Helen Warburton and Rob Hazelton (Ardleigh) (winners);
Shirley Haxell and Malcolm Barclay (also Ardleigh)

Veteran ladies doubles winners
Linda Parkins and Kathy Salmon (Stanway)

Veteran mens doubles winners
Andrew Simpson and Bob Salmon (Stanway)

Veteran mixed doubles finalists
Kathy Salmon and Bob Salmon (Stanway) (winners);
Lesley Ford and David Ford (Cosmopolitan)

Eileen Richardson (Secretary)
Don Rampling (Treasurer)
Gerry Owens (Tournament Secretary)

For the 2003 season, the following clubs have affiliated to the Friendly League and entered the given teams:

Ardleigh Hall Leisure:  Mens Team
Cosmopolitan:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair), Mixed Team
Dedham:  Ladies Team
Lexden Squash:  Affiliated for individual tournaments only
Little Clacton:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team, Mixed Team
Phoenix:  Ladies Team, Mens Team, Mixed Team
Stanway:  Ladies Team, Mens Team, Mixed Team
West Mersea:  Mixed Team
Wivenhoe:  Ladies Team

Web-site designed and maintained by Christine Clark