2010 News
Home Committee Rules Team Leagues

2010 Season

11th September: Finals Day

The finals of the Colchester & District Friendly Tennis League individual tournament saw Chris Burridge retain his men's singles title after a three-set thriller. The Spring Lane player was facing Gerry Borley of Little Clacton and first blood went to last year's winner as Chris won the first set 6-4, before Gerry came back to take the second 6-3. However, the decider was eventually won 8-6 by Chris to retain his title. In the ladies' singles, the first set was a 7-5 win for Fiona Wray of Spring Lane against Linda Taylor of West Mersea. Fiona then raced through the second set 6-1 to take the title for the first time.

The mixed doubles saw Phil Bingham and Chris Pettman of Wivenhoe overcome Gerry Borley and Phoenix's Melanie Woods to win 6-3, 6-1. Melanie had better luck when partnered with Noriko Kelly in the ladies doubles, though, as the Phoenix pair beat Fiona Wray and Anita Filer of Spring Lane to retain their title. It was third time lucky for Gerry Borley in the men's doubles as he and Steve Codling, of Wivenhoe, beat Chris Burridge and Andrew Hodgson of Spring Lane 6-4, 6-2 to hold on to their title.

The same pairings then contested the veteran men's doubles. On this occasion, Chris and Andrew lost the first set 6-1 before fighting back in the second set, but it was to no avail, as Gerry and Steve once again retained their title. Gerry Borley's third title came in the veteran mixed doubles. He and Ann Dunnell, of Phoenix, proved too strong for Phil Bingham and Chris Pettman, coming through 6-3, 6-4, to win the Don Rampling Trophy. In the veteran ladies' doubles, Linda Taylor and Sue Wargent, of West Mersea, beat Ann Dunnell and Eileen Richardson, of Colchester Lawn, 6-2 6-2.

League Chairman, John Sambrook, thanked tournament secretary Gerry Owens and those who had helped or umpired and he then presented shields to the league winners -- Phoenix, who won the ladies', men's and mixed divisions.

Mens singles finalists
Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) and
Chris Burridge (Spring Lane) (winner)

Ladies singles finalists
Fiona Wray (Spring Lane) (winner) and
Linda Taylor (West Mersea)

Mens doubles finalists
In front of net
Steve Codling (Wivenhoe) & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) (winners);
Behind net
Andrew Hodgson & Chris Burridge (Spring Lane)

Ladies doubles finalists
Fiona Wray & Anita Filer (Spring Lane);
Melanie Woods & Noriko Kelly (Phoenix) (winners)

Mixed doubles finalists
Chris Pettman & Phil Bingham (Wivenhoe) (winners);
Melanie Woods (Phoenix) & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton)

Veteran mens doubles finalists
In front of net
Steve Codling (Wivenhoe) & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) (winners);
Behind net
Andrew Hodgson & Chris Burridge (Spring Lane)

Veteran ladies doubles finalists
Linda Taylor & Sue Wargent (West Mersea) (winners);
Ann Dunnell & Eileen Richardson (Phoenix)

Veteran mixed doubles finalists
Contenders for the Don Rampling Cup
Chris Pettman & Phil Bingham (Wivenhoe);
Ann Dunnell (Phoenix) & Gerry Borley (Little Clacton) (winners)

8 April
The AGM was held on Wednesday 7th March 2010. The following clubs have affiliated to the Friendly League for the 2010 season and have entered the following teams:

Colchester LTC:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair), Mixed Team
Dedham:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair)
East Bergholt:  Mixed Team
Lawford:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair)
Little Clacton:  Mixed Team
Maldon:  Mens Team (2-pair)
Phoenix:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team (2-pair), Mixed Team
Spring Lane:  For individual tournaments only
West Mersea:  Ladies Team (2-pair), Mens Team, Mixed Team
Wivenhoe  Mens Team (2-pair)

29 March

The Friendly League AGM will be held on Wednesday 7th April at the Spring Lane Pavillion starting at 7.30pm.

News from previous years

Web-site designed and maintained by Christine Clark